Skip to main content

MUH431: Faith, Life and Music: Home

This research guide is intended to be used by students in MUH431 and includes resources on music careers in performance, teaching, and worship leading. This guide also includes tips for searching Google for studio budgets and policies.

Websites on Music Careers

Department of Labor Statistics page on music careers O*NET OnLine is an open source database of occupational information.

Music Careers in Dollars and Cents”: ‚ÄčA report on music careers from the Berklee College of Music from 2016.

Music Department Career Center at the University of North Carolina Wilmington.

Careers in Music website at the USC Thornton School of Music.

What Can You Do with a Music Degree?: An article from MajoringInMusic.com.

The Network of Music Career Development Officers: this website is run by is “an international group of professionals advancing career development and entrepreneurship for musicians.”

The National Association for Music Education Job Center: This webpage includes job listings related to music education. 

“A SNAAP-Shot of the Career Landscape for Music Educators”: This report was published in October 2016 by the National Association for Music Education. 

TIP: Stay away from websites that charge money for their content, such as careersinmusic.com. 

Online Research into Private Studio Policies and Budgets

Music Studio Budgets

To find information on private music studio budgets, search Google for music studio business plans and use the filetype shortcut (to limit all your results to only PDFs). Open Google, then type:

music studio "business plan" filetype:PDF

 

Private Studio Policies

You can also use the filetype shortcut to search for private studio policies. Try this search both with and without the filetype shortcut. Open Google, then search:

private music studio policy filetype:PDF

NOTE: When using the filetype shortcut, be sure to type a colon after the words "filetype:" with no spaces between "filetype:" and the type of file you'd like to find.

Print Books

All print books are kept in Ryan Library. See a librarian at the Research Help Desk if you would like help locating a book.

More books in print:

Articles, Journals, Magazines, Databases

See the general Music Research Guide for a list of databases that include music-related content. Each database contains thousands of articles in high quality music journals, magazines, and newspapers.

Browse these print journals and magazines in person in the Reference Area of Ryan Library (back issues are kept on the Lower Level):

Clavier Companion

Worship Leader

The Musical Quarterly

Rolling Stone

 

eBooks

Open the book's record by clicking on the title below, then click on "View eBook."